Fresh faces represent students

Students elected into leadership

Gary Walker, Candice Tidwell and Gilbert Alexander Lopez-Thomas were elected as the new Los Medanos College Associated Students president, vice president and treasurer respectively in May. Each candidate ran unopposed.
Accompanying them on the student board will be returning Senators Brianna Klipp, Justin Simon, Dionna Shelbourne and Sable Horton. Kenneth Ward gave notice that he would not be returning.
The new members worked tirelessly over the summer to settle into their new positions and bring several activities to our campus.
LMCAS works closely with faculty, staff and students to make sure students voices are heard. Each meeting is overseen by Adviser Demetria Lawrence and covers a gambit of topics concerning students.
They also oversee upcoming activities on campus like the catch pink events for Breast Cancer Awareness month and the upcoming Elevating Diversity Conference on Sept. 13.
LMCAS members meet Mondays from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. in the Library Room L-105. All students are welcome to observe and can speak if they so choose.
If you are not able to make the meetings the LMCAS website,, has information on LMCAS members, email addresses for each member and the adviser, meetings times and locations. There is also a place to find the agenda and the minutes from previous meeting, allowing the reader to see what was discussed, and voting results of our student government.
For more information, students should stop by the Student Life Office located next to the Child Study Center, in the GA building or call contact Demetria Lawrence at 473-7552.