Experience

Myles Coston heading back to Division 1

Myles Coston heading back to Division 1

Hugo Calderon, twitter.com/HugoCalderon09

May 1, 2018

Myles Coston has spent his baseball career climbing the baseball ladder. He started with tee ball, went on to high school and climbed further making it to Division I baseball. Then he dropped down to community college baseball making for an unusual journey. After two years playing at the junior college...

A struggle continues

Hugo Calderon, hcalderon@lmcexperience.com

March 8, 2018

Los Medanos College loss to College of Marin on Tuesday afternoon by a final score of 10-2. LMC headed into the game with a 3-2 preseason record, coming off a narrow 5-4 loss to Merced College.  On the mound, Austin Cannedy put his team in a sticky situation allowing all of the bases to be loaded on the top of the first. He acted promptly by stri...

Things may be looking up for Giants

Jonathan Little, jlittle@gmail.com

March 8, 2018

Just like the Oakland A’s column that was published last year, I made an outlandish prediction for how the 2017 San Francisco Giants season was going to go for the team in the city by the bay. I said that the Giants had the team to challenge the Dodgers, the Cubs and go to the World Series. However...

LMC dominates DVC

LMC dominates DVC

Carlos Ruiz, cruiz@lmcexperience.com

February 22, 2017

“Boom… boom………BOOM” yelled the whole men’s baseball team, which cued Young Jeezy’s song “Put on” and from there the Mustangs were focused from the first pitch to the last as they won their fifth straight game with an 8-3 stomping of the DVC Vikings. The final regular season meeting...

No HOF for Schilling?

No HOF for Schilling?

Steven Luke, sluke@lmcexperience.com

November 13, 2016

There is a player who has been on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot for four years with his vote percentage rising each year. There is a player who has been on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot that owns three World Series rings as a player. There is a player who has been on the Baseball Hall of Fame...

Giants tread in all too familiar waters

Jason Fierros, jfierros@lmcexperience.com

September 8, 2016

The San Francisco Giants looked like they were on track for another even-year magical run when they went into the All-Star Break on July 10th. At 57-33, they had the best record in all of baseball despite having key players such as fan favorite Hunter Pence and formidable reliever Sergio Romo missing...

Stangs head to regionals

Stangs head to regionals

Renee Smith, rsmith@lmcexperience.com

May 5, 2016

Finishing their season with a loss to Laney College and a win over Contra Costa College, the Los Medanos baseball team heads into the Regional Round of the Baseball Northern Regional Championship as the 12th seed. The Mustangs will face 5th seed Mission College of Santa Clara in the first round of playoffs. In...

Stangs stomp Vikings

Renee Smith, rsmith@lmcexperience.com

February 26, 2016

The Los Medanos College Mustangs baseball team came out on top in the second game of their series against Diablo Valley College Friday, Feb. 19. After losing a close game in extra innings 2-4, Los Medanos won 7-1. Starting pitcher Mike Alexander held his team high with a strong seven innings dealing...

Giants start preseason

Jared Ambuehl, jambuehl@lmcexperience.com

February 26, 2016

Spring Training is underway for the San Francisco Giants. The team is gearing up to start the Cactus League pre-season schedule and there is reason to be excited about 2016. During the whirlwind of an off-season, the Giants reloaded in the pitching department, signing free agents Johnny Cueto and...

The student news site of Los Medanos College
baseball