Vote for your Student Trustee

Make your voice heard

Juan Cebreiros, Staff Writer

Ivan Hernandez and Ryan Lin are from Diablo Valley College and are this year’s Student Trustee candidates for the Student Trustee election to determine who will be the student representative on the District Governing Board. The Student Trustee Election kicks off Tuesday, May 2 with voting starting at 9 a.m. and going until Thursday, May 4 at 5 p.m. A hybrid candidate Q&A will also be held on May 2 from 12:30 until 1:45 p.m.

Hernandez is currently student body president at DVC as well as being on the Student Trustee Advisory Committee. He noted that the committee set plans in action to better DVC and the school district with the goal of those plans being acted upon by the end of the school year.

“We’re coming to the end of the year and we never got to take action on those plans. I want to run for this position because I want to establish the plans we made actually get accomplished,” said Hernandez.

Hernandez has the goal to have constant communication between student government and administration. It was something the student government at DVC implemented and he wants to grow that idea to where all student governments in the district have strong communication with their administration. 

“I’m pretty familiar with our district and I want to ensure there is constant communication between their student government and administration,” Hernandez said. 

Hernandez will be running against Ryan Lin, a first-year student who is studying Business Administration and Statistics and believes every student contributes to the future. 

Lin is running on the goal of ensuring student success and having a no-tolerance policy on issues such as race, disability and sexuality. He wants to use differences people have from one another as a way to unite instead of divide. 

Flyers will be emailed as well as posted around the campuses of Contra Costa Community College, Los Medanos College and DVC with QR codes students can scan and send in their vote starting on Tuesday, May 2 at 9 a.m. and running until voting closes Thursday, May 4 at 5 p.m.