Experience

Gum is an evil we don’t need

Cassie Dickman, cdickman@lmcexperience.com

September 15, 2016

If I were an evil dictator, the first thing to go would be gum. Everything from making it, distributing it, purchasing it and chewing it would be illegal. Thus creating my own version of prohibition – only more logical and beneficial to society – and those found violating the restrictions would face...

College is more than just a major

Alexandra Riva, ariva@lmcexperience.com

September 15, 2016

When I was in high school and college application season rolled around, I applied to San Francisco State as a creative writing major. My initial thought was, ‘well, San Francisco isn’t too far away, and I like writing,’ so it seemed like the most logical thing to do. Only after I was accepted did...

Use your platform for good

Tyler Mortimore, tmortimore@lmcexperience.com

September 8, 2016

Throughout history, there have been people people who risk their careers and reputations to stand up for what they think is right. Most recently, 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick and soccer player Megan Rapinoe have joined the ranks of athletes and celebrities speaking out against social injustice...

Protests too spicy for white people

Tyler Mortimore, tmortimore@lmcexperience.com

September 8, 2016

“The Negro's great stumbling block in the stride toward freedom is not the the Ku Klux Klanner,” wrote Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. from the Birmingham jail, “But the white moderate ... who constantly says ‘I agree with you in the goal you seek, but I can't agree with your methods of direct action.’” 49ers...

Am I Fraud or for Real?

Theresa Gaines, tgaines@lmcexperience.com

September 6, 2016

Choosing a major may be one of the most daunting tasks to incoming college students. Society tells us that by the time we finish four years of high school, we should know what we want to do and immediately begin working toward it. But what do you do if you don’t know what you want to do yet? A lot...

Embracing yourself is important

Beatriz Hernandez, bhernandez@lmcexperience.com

August 31, 2016

In my experience I have found the greatest love I have had in my life has been the joy of learning to accept myself as I am. Love is an interesting concept. No one love should be considered greater than another. Yet, even though it comes in various different forms, it seems as though romantic love...

IOC to blame for Rio mess

Alex Riva, ariva@lmcexperience.com

August 25, 2016

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil was the host of the 2016 Summer Olympic Games to the dismay of, or simply the sheer confusion of, many people. In 2009 when the country won the right to host the games they beat out Tokyo, Japan, the host of the 2020 Olympics, and many other seemingly more fit contenders. The term...

Manning not the best ever

Garrett Belme, gbelme@lmcexperience.com

August 25, 2016

Now that we have had time to digest quarterback Peyton Manning’s legendary career, it’s time to determine if he is in fact the G.O.A.T.. In terms of numbers the five-time league MVP is unmatched. He holds the career records for wins, passing yards, and passing touchdowns which on paper should...

Stand tall, be proud of your height

Alexandra Riva, ariva@lmcexperience.com

May 12, 2016

The average height for men in America is 5’10” so, being a girl that stands at 5’9” I have felt the need to make myself look as inconspicuous as possible for much of my life. Starting at a young age I felt insecure about my height. I grew like a weed and expected all of my friends to do the same,...

Canadian popstar deserves respect

Tyler Mortimore, tyler.mortimore@gmail.com

May 5, 2016

It’s been nearly a year since we were blessed with the pop album of the decade. On June 24, 2015, notable Canadian Carly Rae Jepsen released her third album “Emotion,” her first since her hastily-assembled 2012 album “Kiss Me.” That record’s indifferent reception — despite it being a...

The fake depth of a generation

Yetunde Ogunleye, yogunleye@lmcexperience.com

April 26, 2016

I hate to be one of those people that set themselves apart from the crowd with self-righteousness, but I seriously struggle to relate with a lot of my generation’s ideals. In particular the epidemic of hipsters, the pseudo “female empowerment” trend, and the glorification of selfishness. Hipsters...

The student news site of Los Medanos College
opinion