Experience

College studies options

College studies options

Jordan Neel, jneel@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under Campus, Top Stories

LMC faculty and staff participated in a college wide conversation Oct. 2 sparked by the book “Redesigning America’s Community Colleges” by Thomas R. Bailey, Shanna Smith Jaggars and Davis Jenkins. Members of the college community had been provided copies of the book during All College Day in August...

Professor braves the elements

Professor braves the elements

Brenna Enos, benos@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under News, Top Stories

  Swimming in darkness with only a small headlight to follow, enduring jellyfish stings with every crashing wave and doing it all after a sleepless night — that was the experience Los Medanos College professor Briana McCarthy during her swim across the English Channel. Departing Sept. 14, M...

BART revises path

BART revises path

Robert Pierce, rpierce@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under News, Top Stories

Thanks to the actions of Los Medanos College’s own photography and graphic design Professor Curtis Corlew, BART, the Contra Costa Transit Authority and CalTrans will be collaborating with Antioch city authorities to ‘fix’ a problematic intersection near Hillcrest Avenue and make it safer for bic...

Artist advocates animal activism

Artist advocates animal activism

Perry Continente, pcontinente@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under Features, Top Stories

Striking red and white instillation art pieces revolving around poaching were unveiled in the art gallery. These pieces use a variety of mediums to convey the same message, all of which promoting animal activism. Artist Karrie Hovey’s instillation “Menagerie” opened Sept. 26 to the public, with...

Comedy to stage at LMC

Comedy to stage at LMC

Azi Carter, acarter@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under Features, Top Stories

Comic relief awaits the Los Medanos College community when “Lone Star” and “Laundry and Bourbon,” directed by Barbara M. Norris, opens in LMC’s Little Theater Tuesday, Oct. 12 for a two-week run.  These two-in-one comedic acts, with “Lone Star” heading up the ...

Battle of the Bay: LMC style

Battle of the Bay: LMC style

Carlos Ruiz, cruiz@lmcexperience.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under Sports, Top Stories

The heated rivalry between the San Francisco Giants and the Oakland Athletics is one of the most famous clashes of all time in sports and on Friday, Sept. 29 the rivalry continued to create dramatics after the A’s vs. Giants Los Medanos College staff softball game. What began as a simple softball game...

Mustangs stomp out Storm

Mustangs stomp out Storm

Jesus Cano, jcano@lmcexperince.com

October 5, 2017


Filed under Sports, Top Stories

A two-goal second half paved the way for the Los Medanos College Women’s soccer team, as they picked up their third win of the season by defeating Napa Valley College 2-0. Plenty of scoring opportunities were presented in the first half Tuesday afternoon at Mustang Stadium, but the Mustangs did n...

Sumney’s album feels comforting

Sumney’s album feels comforting

Kimberly Stelly, kstelly@lmcexperience.com

October 4, 2017


Filed under Features, Top Stories

If the word ‘comfort’ came in the form of music, it would sound something like Moses Sumney’s debut album “Aromanticism.” With soft, surreal crooning and minimalistic instrumentation, this album is the musical embodiment of a warm blanket on a cold day. But this isn’t your typical “hearts...

“A Seat At The Table” still imperative to Black culture

“A Seat At The Table” still imperative to Black culture

Adria Watson, awatson@lmcexperience.com

September 30, 2017


Filed under Features, Top Stories

“When I felt afraid or when I felt like this record would be so different from my last, I would see or hear another story of a young Black person in America having their life taken away from them, having their freedom taken away,” said singer-songwriter, Solange during the “A Seat With Us” conversation she had a year ago with her mother (Tina Knowles-Lawson) and writer Judnick Mayard about “A Sea...

Honoring cultural journey

Honoring cultural journey

September 28, 2017


Filed under Features, Top Stories

Los Medanos College students Julian Mispireta, Amata Abatcha, Vanessa Fregoso and Diana Cobian relax in the Outdoor Quad Wednesday, Sept. 27 for the viewing of “McFarland, USA” (top photo) hosted by Student Life in celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month.

Student body gives blood

Student body gives blood

Joshua Wood, jwood@lmcexperience.com

September 28, 2017


Filed under Campus, Top Stories

Los Medanos College held its Fall 2017 Blood Drive on Sept. 20 The blood drive was run out of a mobile donation center from Blood Centers of the Pacific, a non-profit organization that delivers blood to over 40 hospitals in the Bay Area and northern California. Students from across LMC gathered at...

Clubs feature activities

Clubs feature activities

Jordan Neel, jneel@lmcexperience.com

September 28, 2017


Filed under Campus, Top Stories

A steady stream of students flocked to the outdoor quad Tuesday, Sept. 19 for Club Day. 14 of the 26 active clubs were present on hand to provide information to students in joining a student-run club on campus — including AGS, Anime, Honors and UMOJA. Director of Student Life Teresa Archaga, who...

The student news site of Los Medanos College
Top Stories