Experience

Millennials not the rude ones

Robert Pierce, rpierce@lmcexperience.com

November 29, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

You can’t look at the Internet or watch news for more than 20 minutes without seeing some ‘think piece’ talking about how Millennials are lazy, narcissistic, coddled, etc, etc. One phrase these critics repeatedly throw out is a “culture of entitlement” – supposedly, everyone under 30 live...

Editorial Cartoon 11/17/17

Editorial Cartoon 11/17/17

Lissette Urbina, lurbina@lmcexperience.com

November 16, 2017


Filed under Editorial Cartoon

Solve the nuclear problem

November 16, 2017


Filed under Editorial

A bill introduced by California Representative Ted Lieu would prohibit the president from launching a nuclear strike for any reason other than in retaliation without a formal declaration of war from Congress. With rising nuclear tensions and Trump’s increasingly unhinged behavior, this bill is ...

I’m not your ‘safe Black friend’

I’m not your ‘safe Black friend’

Kimberly Stelly, kstelly@lmcexperience.com

November 16, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

Are you a Black person who has been called “whitewashed” or an “Oreo”? Are you the Black friend people feel comfortable saying racist things to despite your pro-Black politics? Do your non-Black friends say they’re blacker than you when they know a song you don’t know? The friend people ask ri...

Social media must be recognized

Josh Wood, jwood@lmcexperience.com

November 16, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

Social media is arguably the single most widespread contribution to the planet by recent technology. You can keep track of your friends, family, and even your next-door neighbor’s cat if you feel so inclined. The world has become a smaller place, and people are now becoming more connected to one anothe...

Enough of the mass shootings

Tamara Seward, tseward@lmcexperience.com

November 16, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

The last several months have been heart wrenching for many areas of our country due to natural disasters or man made tragedies. I cringe every time the news comes on and when I get on social media as facts of each case comes to light. For instance, the shooter in the Sutherland Springs Church shoot...

Ads take away from the moment

Andrew Gonzalez, agonzalez@lmcexperience.com

November 8, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

Do we really need to see advertisements everywhere we go? During the World Series, which I understand is a big deal, there were ads every few seconds the pitcher was on the mound taking a breath, deciding what to do next. Even during this intense and championship-deciding game — where the pressure ...

Put an end to the blaming

November 8, 2017


Filed under Editorial

There’s this common psychological trick used by people who need to manipulate a narrative to keep themselves from taking responsibility for something they’ve done wrong. It’s called blame-shifting. In light of all the sexual assault allegations, this is an important tactic to note. Though it is ...

Editorial Cartoon 11/3/17

Editorial Cartoon 11/3/17

November 8, 2017


Filed under Editorial Cartoon

Romani culture often overlooked and misunderstood

Perry Continente, pcontinente@lmcexperience.com

November 2, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

Despite recent social justice movements sparking conversation about race, gender and sexuality helping pave the way for a better, more empathetic tomorrow, the Romani people are too seldom talked about and widely misunderstood. Few people even realize that the Romani are an ethnic group, thinking...

Restorative Justice what it looks like

Azi Carter, acarter@lmcexperience.com

November 2, 2017


Filed under Perspectives

  Our criminal justice system asks three questions: What law was broken? Who broke it? What punishment is warranted? When you commit a crime, you incur a debt to society, creating an imbalance in the justice system. If you caused someone to suffer, you will be caused to suffer. If you have inflicted...

The student news site of Los Medanos College
Perspectives